2009 Change the Game

D.C. Divas running back Okiima Pickett, along with current NFL stars Vernon Davis of the San Francisco 49ers and Shawne Merriman of the San Diego Chargers, was among the many athletes and celebrities honored for their work in the community and on the field. Dexter Manley, the all-time leader in sacks for the Washington Redskins, was also in attendance to receive an award as well as Olympic silver medalist hurdler David Payne, Mike Wilson of the Harlem Globetrotters, and former NBA star Eric Snow.

The Change the Game ceremony was held at the Z Lounge, which is part of the L.A. Sports Club complex in northwest Washington, DC. The event took place three days before the historic inauguration of President Obama. A portion of the evening’s proceeds went to the Be Magic Foundation, which is designed to inspire, motivate, educate, celebrate, and empower single mothers and their children of every culture, ethnicity, and socio-economic background in the United States.