2006 Independent Youth Flag Football League

The Independent Youth Flag Football League (IYFFL) was created to give schools and youth clubs that don’t have the number of players or can’t afford to have a full contact program the opportunity to play contact flag football instead. The IYFFL is a co-ed football league that offers youth the opportunity to learn football terminology, techniques, and position responsibilities, while using football as a tool for improving life skills.

The IYFFL was founded by former D.C. Divas defensive back Candy Love. Divas players Allysea Marfull and M’Bwende Anderson helped coach the middle and high school age coed teams. The D.C. Divas are a proud league supporter and provider of the championship trophies and t-shirts.

In 2006, the IYFFL hosted their first championship game. Thurgood Marshall Academy became the first ever Independent Youth Flag Football League champion with a well-deserved victory over Cesar Chavez school on a rainy evening in southeast DC. Thurgood Marshall Academy featured three young women on their championship squad.